Friday, March 8, 2013

Change in Congregations

  • Bessemer Alabama Stake: Columbiana Ward created from Columbiana Branch
  • Calgary Alberta West Stake: Calgary 8th Ward discontinued 
  • Queen Creek Arizona North Stake: Cortina 4th Ward created
  • Arapahoe Colorado Stake: Copperleaf Ward created
  • Orlando Florida Hunter's Creek Stake: Canoe Creek Ward and Osceola (Spanish) and Poinciana (Spanish) Branches discontinued
  • Bakersfield California East Stake: East Hills Ward discontinued
  • Columbus Georgia Stake: Edgewood Ward discontinued 
  • Conyers Georgia Stake: Flint River Ward discontinued; Lake Jodeco (Spanish) Branch created
  • Caldwell Idaho Stake: Caldwell 16th Ward created
  • Omaha Nebraska Papillion Stake: Oakview Ward discontinued; Walnut Creek Branch created
  • Los Lunas New Mexico Stake: Manzano YSA Branch created
  • Bismark North Dakota Stake: Minot 3rd Ward created
  • Lawton Oklahoma Stake: Fort Sill Military Branch created
  • Farmington Utah Stake: Farmington 12th Ward created
  • Heber City Utah Stake: Heber 16th (Care Center) Branch created
  • Lehi Utah Cedar Hollow Stake: Cedar Hollow 8th Ward created
  • Lehi Utah Pleasant Pointe Stake: Traverse Mountain 11th Ward created
  • Mapleton Utah North Stake: Mapleton 23rd Ward created
  • Payston Utah East Stake: Elk Ridge 7th Ward created
  • Pleasant View Utah Stake: Pleasant View 16th, 17th, and 18th Wards created
  • Sandy Utah YSA Stake: Flat Iron YSA and River Bend YSA Wards created
  • South Jordan Utah Daybreak Stake: Daybreak 15th Ward created
  • Woodbridge Virginia Stake: Occoquan YSA Branch discontinued
Change in wards: +10

Change in branches: +1


Downtownchrisbrown said...

I'm thinking there's going to be another stake in ND soon. What does everyone else think?

Mike Johnson said...

The Bismarck Stake has 8 wards and 6 branches. The Fargo Stake has 5 wards and 7 branches. While both have a lot of units, half of those units are branches. So, I am not sure the membership is large enough for a third stake.

Mike Johnson said...

I wanted to add that I would love to be proven wrong, e.g., that many of those branches are closing in on becoming wards or wards close to splitting so that it would be possible to form a third stake in North Dakota.

Downtownchrisbrown said...

Thanks Mike. Do we know if the increase in units is due to move-ins from the oil activity or is it reactivation/convert baptisms? I believe they've added a couple wards and a branch in the last year or so.

Mike Johnson said...

>>>Woodbridge Virginia Stake: Occoquan YSA Branch discontinued

The Annandale Stake now has an eighth ward--the Braddock YSA Ward, which contains the old Occoquan YSA Branch.

However, the Braddock YSA Ward is not considered new. It is listed as having been formed in 2005, so I believe it is a renaming and moving of the YSA ward in the Centerville Stake (I can't remember the name and it no longer shows up in that stake). The Braddock Ward now serves the YSA in the Centerville, Woodbridge, and Annandale stakes.

Given that the Woodbridge and Fredericksburg stakes are moving into the Richmond Mission in July, I was hoping the discontinuation of the Occoquan YSA Branch in the Woodbridge Stake meant that they were combined with the Rappanhannock YSA Branch in my stake. But, the singles are integrated to the north for now. I suspect when the stakes transfer missions, the YSA will be realigned as well.

Its official, the Garrisonville Ward of the Fredericksburg Stake is splitting on 17 March. The new bishopric has been approved by the First Presidency.

Mike Johnson said...


I don't know why North Dakota has been adding units. I did see something that North Dakota is near the top of the list of US states for inward migration. Oil fields could be the reason, but I am not familiar with how that compares with other industries.

Mike Johnson said...

At least two ward were created on Sunday 10 March.

The Saddle Ranch Ward of the Highlands Ranch Colorado Stake was created, making 11 wards in the stake:

Daniels Park Ward
Falcon Park Ward
Heritage Park Ward
Highlands Ranch Ward
Northridge Ward
Roxborough Ward
Saddle Ranch Ward
Sand Creek YSA Ward
Spring Gulch Ward
Summit View Ward
Westridge Ward

The Temescal Canyon Ward of the Menifee California Stake was created making 14 wards in the stake:

Canyon Lake Ward
El Cariso Ward
Lake Elsinore Ward
Lake Perris Ward
Menifee Lakes Ward
Menifee Ward
Newport YSA Ward
Ortega Ward
Paloma Valley Ward
Perris Ward
Sun City Ward
Temescal Canyon Ward
Tres Lagos Ward
Wildomar Ward

Mike Johnson said...

At least 5 wards and 2 branches were created on 24 March:

The Rosecrest 5th and 6th wards were created in the Herriman Utah Rose Canyon Stake, which now has 12 wards:

Rose Canyon 1st Ward
Rose Canyon 2nd Ward
Rose Canyon 3rd Ward
Rose Canyon 4th Ward
Rose Canyon 5th Ward
Rose Canyon 6th Ward
Rosecrest 1st Ward
Rosecrest 2nd Ward
Rosecrest 3rd Ward
Rosecrest 4th Ward
Rosecrest 5th Ward
Rosecrest 6th Ward

The Sage Valley Ward was created in the Eagle Mountain Utah Stake, which now has 11 wards:

Ash Point Ward
Cedar Pass 1st Ward
Cedar Pass 2nd Ward
Cedar Pass 3rd Ward
Cedar Pass 4th Ward
Cedar Pass 10th Ward
Cedar Pass 13th Ward (Spanish)
Cedar Pass 14th Ward
Cedar Pass 15th Ward
Lone Tree 1st Ward
Lone Tree 2nd Ward
Sage Valley Ward

The Vanderbelt Beach Ward was created in the Fort Myers Florida Stake, which now has 8 wards and 3 branches:

Bahia Ward (Spanish)
Bonita Springs Ward
Cape Coral Ward
Fort Myers Ward
Lehigh Ward
Naples Ward
Rio Vista Ward (Spanish)
Vanderbilt Beach Ward
Estero YSA Branch
Golden Gate Estates Branch
Immokalee Branch (Spanish)

The Waikoloa Ward was created in the Kona Hawaii Stake, which now has 9 wards:

Honokaa Ward
Kealakekua Ward
Keei Ward
Kohala Ward
Kona 1st Ward
Kona 2nd Ward
Waikoloa Ward
Waimea 1st Ward
Waimea 2nd Ward

The Sheffield 4th Branch (Slovak) was created in the Sheffield England Stake, which now has 7 wards and 3 branches:

Chesterfield Ward
Doncaster Ward
Mansfield Ward
Sheffield 1st Ward
Sheffield 2nd Ward
Sheffield 3rd Ward
Worksop Ward
Barnsley Branch
Rotherham Branch
Sheffield 4th Branch (Slovak)

The Vuna Branch was created in the Taveuni Fiji District, which now has 12 branches:

Labasa Branch
Matei Branch
Nabua Branch
Naduna Branch
Nuku Branch
Savusavu Branch
Seaqaqa Branch
Somosomo Branch
Tacilevu Branch
Taveuni Qeleni Branch
Tukavesi Branch
Vuna Branch

Matt said...

Thanks everyone for your comments; I just posted a new update on unit changes in the United States.